REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION CERTIFICATE

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION – CERTIFICATION UNIT

ALL TEACHERS SERVING CHILDREN BIRTH THROUGH KINDERGARTEN MUST HAVE EITHER AN EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION CERTIFICATE OR EARLY CHILDHOOD ENDORSEMENT. AN INDIVIDUAL WHO HOLDS THE EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION TEACHING CERTIFICATE OR THE EARLY CHILDHOOD ENDORSEMENT IN COMBINATION WITH AN ARIZONA CROSS-CATEGORICAL, EMOTIONAL DISABILITY, LEARNING DISABILITY, MENTAL RETARDATION, ORTHOPEDIC / OTHER HEALTH IMPAIRMENT OR SEVERELY AND PROFOUNDLY DISABLED SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHING CERTIFICATE IS NOT REQUIRED TO HOLD THE EARLY CHILDHOOD SPECIAL EDUCATION CERTIFICATE.

➤ PROVISIONAL EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION, BIRTH THROUGH AGE 8 OR THROUGH GRADE 3 CERTIFICATE

The Provisional certificate is valid for 3 years and is not renewable, but may be extended once for 3 years.

Requirements for the Provisional Early Childhood Education, Birth through Age 8 or through Grade 3 certificate are:

- 1. Completed Application for Certification
- 2. Appropriate fee (See Application for Certification)
- 3. A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (<u>IVP</u>) fingerprint card (plastic). NOTE: Effective January 1, 2008, per Arizona State Statute A.R.S. § 15-106, an applicant who applies for a teaching certificate shall submit an *Identity Verified Prints (IVP)* Fingerprint card. For more information visit the <u>Arizona Department of Public Safety</u> website or call (602) 223-2279.
- 4. A Bachelor's or more advanced degree from an accredited institution. Official transcript(s) required.
- 5. Option A, B, or C:
 - A. Completion of a teacher preparation program in early childhood education from an accredited institution or a Board-approved teacher preparation program.
 OR -
 - B. Thirty seven (37) semester hours of early childhood education courses from an accredited institution to include <u>all</u> of the following areas of study <u>and</u> a minimum of **8** semester hours of practicum. Practicum must include a minimum of **4** semester hours in supervised field experience, practicum, internship or student teaching setting serving children birth through preschool <u>or</u> one year of full-time verified teaching experience birth through preschool <u>and</u> a minimum of **4** semester hours in a supervised student teaching setting serving children in kindergarten through grade 3 <u>or</u> one year of full-time verified teaching experience kindergarten through grade 3.
 - Early childhood education courses shall include <u>all</u> of the following areas of study (1) foundations of early childhood education, (2) child guidance and classroom management, (3) characteristics and quality practices for typical and atypical behaviors of young children, (4) child growth and development, including, health, safety and nutrition, (5) child, family, cultural and community relationships, (6) developmentally appropriate instructional methodologies for teaching language, math, science, social studies and the arts, (7) early language and literacy development, (8) assessing, monitoring and reporting progress of young children.
 - One (1) year of verified full-time teaching experience with children in birth through preschool may substitute for 4 semester hours in supervised field experience, practicum, internship or student teaching setting serving children birth through preschool. Submit a Verification of Teaching Experience form signed and completed by the District Superintendent or Program Director of a school-based education program or center-based program licensed by the Department of Health Services or regulated by tribal or military authorities to verify teaching experience.
 - One (1) year of verified full-time teaching experience with children in kindergarten through grade 3 in an accredited school may substitute for 4 semester hours in a supervised student teaching setting serving children in kindergarten through grade 3. Submit a <u>Verification of Teaching Experience</u> form signed and completed by the District Superintendent or Personnel/HR Director to verify teaching experience.
 - C. A valid early childhood education certificate from another state.
- 6. Professional Knowledge Early Childhood Exam.

One of the following:

- A. A passing score on the Professional Knowledge Early Childhood (#93) portion of the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessment (AEPA).
- B. A passing score on a comparable Professional Knowledge Early Childhood examination from another state or agency.
 - ➤ All score reports must have the word "Passed" on it.
 - > Test scores older than 10 years WILL NOT be accepted
 - > Submit the original score report at time of application.

REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION CERTIFICATE

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION – CERTIFICATION UNIT

- C. A valid comparable certificate from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Submit a notarized copy of the certificate.
- D. Three (3) years of full-time teaching early childhood education, birth through grade 3. Submit a <u>Verification of Teaching Experience</u> form signed by the District Superintendent or Personnel Director to verify teaching experience.
- 7. Subject Knowledge Early Childhood Education Exam.

One of the following:

- A. A passing score on the Subject Knowledge Early Childhood Education (#36) portion of the AEPA.
- B. A passing score on a comparable Subject Knowledge Early Childhood examination from another state or agency.
 - All score reports must have the word "Passed" on it.
 - ➤ Test scores older than 10 years WILL NOT be accepted
 - Submit the original score report at time of application.
- C. A valid comparable certificate from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Submit a notarized copy of the certificate.
- 8. Verification of state approved Structured English Immersion (SEI) training or comparable state approved SEI training from another state to qualify for the <u>Provisional SEI</u> endorsement. Option A if certified <u>before August 31, 2006</u>. Option B if certified on or after August 31, 2006:
 - A. Verification of one (1) semester hour or fifteen (15) clock hours of state approved SEI training.
 - B. Verification of three (3) semester hours or forty-five (45) clock hours of state approved SEI training.

NOTE: The <u>Provisional</u> SEI endorsement is valid for three years. An additional three semester hours of state approved SEI training will be required to qualify for the <u>Full</u> SEI endorsement.

Individuals who hold an Arizona Full Bilingual or Full ESL endorsement are exempt from the SEI endorsement requirement. The requirement for a Provisional SEI endorsement may be waived for a period not to exceed one year for individuals who graduate from administrator or teacher preparation programs that are not approved by the Arizona State Board of Education and meet all other applicable certification requirements.

- 9. Arizona Constitution (a college course or the appropriate examination).
- 10. U.S. Constitution (a college course or the appropriate examination).

NOTE: If you otherwise qualify for the certificate but are deficient in Arizona and/or U.S. Constitution you have 3 years under a valid teaching certificate to fulfill the requirement, except that if you are teaching an academic course on History, Government, Social Studies, Citizenship, Law, or Civics, you have 1 year to fulfill the requirement(s).

> STANDARD EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION, BIRTH THROUGH AGE 8 OR THROUGH GRADE 3 CERTIFICATE

The Standard certificate is valid for 6 years and may be renewed.

Requirements for the Standard Early Childhood Education, Birth through Age 8 or through Grade 3 certificate are:

- 1. Option A or B:
 - A. Both of the following:
 - i. Qualify for the Provisional Early Childhood certificate
 - ii. Two years of verified full-time teaching experience during the valid period of the Provisional certificate may be used to convert the Provisional certificate to a Standard certificate. (Please submit a conversion form signed by the District Superintendent or Personnel Director verifying two years of full-time teaching experience during the valid period of the Provisional certificate being converted.)

- OR -

- B. Hold current National Board Certification in Early Childhood
- 2. Verification of 3 semester hours or 45 clock hours of state approved Structured English Immersion (SEI) training or comparable state approved SEI training from another state to qualify for the Full SEI endorsement.
 - **NOTE:** Individuals who hold a Full Bilingual or Full ESL endorsement are exempt from the SEI endorsement requirement.
- 3. A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (<u>IVP</u>) fingerprint card (plastic).